Skip to content

Council of Financial Regulators

Welcome to the Council of Financial Regulators

The Council of Financial Regulators (CFR) is the coordinating body for Australia's main financial regulatory agencies. It is a non-statutory body whose role is to contribute to the efficiency and effectiveness of financial regulation and to promote stability of the Australian financial system. Its membership comprises the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA), which chairs the CFR; the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA); the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC); and The Treasury. In the CFR, members share information, discuss regulatory issues and, if the need arises, coordinate responses to potential threats to financial stability. The CFR also advises Government on the adequacy of Australia's financial regulatory arrangements.

This website contains information on how the CFR operates and brings together publications of the CFR and of its members relating to Australian financial sector stability and regulatory issues.

What's New

RBA releases: Financial Stability Review

15 April 2016

CFR Consultation: Financial Benchmarks Regulatory Reform

31 March 2016

CFR releases a discussion paper on the evolution of the BBSW methodology

9 February 2016

CFR Response to Consultation: Resolution Regime for Financial Market Infrastructures

23 November 2015

See more in News Archives »

Members of the Council of Financial Regulators

Reserve Bank of Australia logo

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority  logo

Australian Securities and Investments Commission  logo

The Treasury logo